Traveling with Children

My family is blessed to be able to travel. Each of my kids, the youngest being only 1, have flown dozens of times. In those trips, I have learned by trial and error how to successfully travel with kids of all ages. Hopefully, this post will save you some of my errors! I will break it down in stages of travel, and then tips based on the ages of your kids.

Preparing for Traveling

Being properly prepared, is the #1 thing you can do to ensure a (semi) stress free trip. If you have not traveled with babies/kids, or if you need a reminder, hear this.. your kids will not sleep as well as they do at home. They may have more behaviours and attitude, due to being overwhelmed/overstimulated and tired. It may be hectic and crazy. It will all be okay. Once you accept that it may be different than what your expecting, once you have more realistic expectations, it makes it SO much easier to go with the flow and accept the vacation as it is. I have found that makes a huge difference for my husband and I. We prepare ourself to be tired, to be a bit overwhelmed, and to soak up so many new fun adventures.

Write it Out

My name is Kayla, and I am a type-A organized person. I used to love going to Target before each school season and pick out new pens, clean crisp papers and binders, and locker accessories. In college, I preferred to write out my notes from lectures as opposed to typing them. I still love writing everything out. Calendars, shopping lists, etc. It kills my husband πŸ˜‚

The week or two before a big trip, I begin writing out our packing list. I break my list down into categories; gear, clothing, toiletries, kids entertainment, diaper bag/purse, etc. Then as I think of items throughout that week or two, I add them to the list. Packing and writing a list last minute is so stressful to me, and I usually forget something. If you think of it, write it down. Go through your day-to-day activities and see what it is you need! Sound machines, hats, stuffed animals, whatever.

Comforts

When packing for a baby, the more you can make your location feel like home, the better. Whether you are bringing a pack and play or borrowing one, bring one of their blankets. It will smell and feel like home to them. Bring any lovies, sound machines/musical bedtime items, etc. Recreate your bedtime routine as much as possible! It will help them feel comfortable even in new places.

As your kids get older, you need less and less items when you travel. Our big girls just need their favorite stuffed animal and their sound machine and they are good to go!

Getting Through Security and Boarding

Getting through security is hard enough, let alone without kids! One way to expedite this process, is to have everything packed efficiently. Have their empty water bottles in the stroller/wagon or in a side pocket of their bags if possible so you can easily grab it. Thankfully kids don’t have to take off their shoes (can you imagine?!) So they can just plop their backpacks on the belt, pull out their empty sippy cups/water bottles and be ready. With babies, I find it easiest to have everything already divided in Ziploc bags. That way, all the bottles/formulas/snacks are together, any lotions, diaper rash cream, etc is together. You can easily grab out what needs to be separated, and throw your bag in. Car seats and strollers or wagons always take longer to be inspected, so just take that extra time into consideration when planning on how early to get to the airport. Then throw everything back in your bags and be on your way!

Here are some quick easy tips of what to do before boarding a plane:

1) Have everyone go potty, check diapers, etc before boarding. Nothing sucks more than taking littles to potty in the airplane bathrooms. Trust me.

2) Fill up water bottles with water form the drinking fountains, or better yet at an airport restaurant, beforehand. Airplanes have dry recycled air, everybody gets thirsty, it can take awhile to get water from the stewardesses , and the water is usually gross. Fill them up prior and your one step ahead!

3) Talk about whether you want to pre-board and get more settled before the flight, or wait until the last minute to wrangle your kids in a confined space. Do what’s best for you and your sanity!

4) Once you get to your seats, put your immediate needs and water bottles in the pocket in front of you! If flying with a baby, I find it helpful to put a diaper, wipes, and extra onesie there for quick access. Get yourself situated with a nursing cover or lovie and take a breath! You’ve made it this far!!

5) If traveling with a newborn or tougher baby, I’ve learned it’s a good idea to pack an extra shirt for me in my purse/ diaper bag in case of blowouts, throw up, or nursing leaks. Be prepared ☺️

Keeping the Kids Happy (and quiet!)

No judgment here, but I let my kids watch shows for the flight duration. It keeps them happy, quiet, and in one place. They have their waters, snacks, and a movie or two ready to go.

If you prefer for them to not watch movies, there are plenty of fun and easy toys! Some of our favorites are these books, Melissa and Doug Water Wow! Another great option is a sticker book, coloring book, or something new and fun to explore! We like to hit up the Dollar Tree or Targets dollar spot for a few new fun surprises for the kids!

Arriving at Destination

Let your kids go a little crazy in the room. They have traveled longer than they are used to, and better they bounce or play that energy out then let it less to bickering. Set up your room, their items, toiletries, whatever you need while they go silly. Whether the flight there was good or bad, be sure to praise them for what they did right then talk about what could be improved. They have to learn how to travel, and this is the best way!

Now, go enjoy your time! You made it!! You are a pro πŸ’ͺ

Leave a comment